Tortoise Set New Release Date For Beacons of Ancestorship, Prep Five-Inch Singles Series

Tortoise Set New Release Date For <i>Beacons of Ancestorship</i>, Prep Five-Inch Singles Series
As we reported early this year, post-rock jazz heads Tortoise have been busy working on a new album. It will mark their first record in five years and, as we now know, will bear the title Beacons of Ancestorship on its new official release date of June 23 (not April 21, as initially reported).

As usual, Tortoise's sixth full-length is being handled by the folks at Thrill Jockey and, according to the band, this record will contain "a lot of variety." Beacons of Ancestorship will also include a track called "High Class Slim Came Floatin' In," which will be included on the Record Store Day comp Records Toreism, and "Yinxianghechengqi," a song we assume is in reference to the old Chinese analogue synth.

After the album's release, the band plan to release a limited edition series of not seven- but five-inch records that will feature new music. There are no further details on those yet but we do have a tracklisting for the full-length.

Beacons of Ancestorship:

1. "High Class Slim Came Floatin' In"
2. "Prepare Your Coffin"
3. "Northern Something"
4. "Gigantes"
5. "Penumbra"
6. "Yinxianghechengqi"
7. "The Fall of Seven Diamonds Plus One"
8. "Minors"
9. "Monument Six One Thousand"
10. "de Chelly"
11. "Charteroak Foundation"