Toronto's CAIRO Announce Debut LP

Toronto's CAIRO Announce Debut LP
Following a few years on the scene, Toronto indie rock outfit CAIRO have announced that they've signed to MapleMusic Recordings to deliver their first full-length, A History of Reasons. The album is set to hit stores January 20.

A press release explains that the foursome tracked the album earlier this year with producer Nygel Asselin (Half Moon Run, Air Marshal Landing). The album follows the group's 2012 EP Young Love, with a CD edition featuring 10 new tracks and the vinyl and iTunes editions adding one more track.

Though song previews have yet to be revealed in full, A History of Reasons is said to be marked with "reverb-soaked guitar riffs," whispered vocals and Caitlin Grieve's violin. The set is also said to weave in elements of folk, rock and experimental. Below the tracklisting, you'll find a sampling of what's to come in a vocals-heavy video trailer.

CAIRO plays Montreal later this month as part of M For Montreal, while a record release party in Toronto is in the works for February.

A History of Reasons:

1. A History Of Reasons
2. With You
3. Age/Sex/Race
4. Render
5. Kingdoms
6. Nothing *
7. One At A Time
8. Starry Eyes
9. Seventeen
10. Extinguishing Fires
11. Words & Meaning

* vinyl/iTunes bonus track

Tour dates:

11/22 Montreal QC - Casa del Popolo (M For Montreal)