TOPS Unveil Sophomore Album 'Picture You Staring,' Premiere New Track

TOPS Unveil Sophomore Album 'Picture You Staring,' Premiere New Track
TOPS recently unveiled a new single called "Change of Heart" with promises that a full-length would follow. Sure enough, the soft-focus Montreal pop charmers are preparing to issue Picture You Staring on September 2 through Arbutus Records.

The 12-song album includes "Change of Heart" plus its B-side, "Sleeptalker." A description from Arbutus notes that the album was self-recorded and self-produced at the label's studio in Montreal; presumably, the rest of the record was made in the same manner.

The album is available to pre-order on iTunes.

Scroll past the tracklist to hear "Sleeptalker." Singer Jane Penny explained in a Facebook note, "'Sleeptalker' is a deeply personal song for me. I wrote it at a time when I felt trapped by music. The song is about dark thoughts and the things people do to get through the night. I find solace in it now and I'm proud of the recording that we made. Please listen and enjoy!"

The 7-inch with "Change of Heart" and "Sleeptalker" came out this week digitally, while the vinyl ships out July 14. It can be ordered here.

Picture You Staring:

1. Way to Be Loved
2. Blind Faze
3. Circle the Dark
4. Outside
5. All the People Sleep
6. Sleeptalker
7. Superstition Future
8. 2 Shy
9. Change of Heart
10. Easier Said
11. Driverless Passenger
12. Destination