TOPS' David Carriere Reissues Solo Album as Paula on Vinyl

TOPS' David Carriere Reissues Solo Album as Paula on Vinyl
Before Montreal's TOPS charmed us with their 2012 debut album Tender Opposites, the band's David Carriere released a solo album under the name Paula. Relaxed Fit was originally shared as a by-donation digital album, but it will now get a vinyl pressing on July 16 through the Drag City imprint Ethereal Sequence.

The original digital release was eight songs long, and this vinyl version expands that number to 10 with the inclusion of two extra tracks called "Black Acura" and "Totally Nice." These songs aren't simply tacked onto the end, but are slotted into the tracklist.

The album has a dreamy and grooving pop sound that isn't too huge a departure from Carriere's work with TOPS, although it's significantly more electronic and abrasive. Rapper Cadence Weapon appears on the track "Change the Subject."

The album is still available as a pay-what-you-want download from Arbutus Records or Bandcamp; the latter version of the collection includes "Totally Nice" (but not "Black Acura"), while the former features the original eight tunes.

Pre-order the album on vinyl right here.

Paula will perform on July 11 at Il Motore in Montreal.

Relaxed Fit:

1. Waverly
2. Lover Boy
3. Even If It's True
4. Change the Subject (ft. Cadence Weapon)
5. Black Acura
6. Susan & Linda
7. Step to the Friend
8. Totally Nice
9. Touching Closer than Touching
10. Blonde