Throbbing Gristle Announce 'Desertshore/Final Report,' Grab Antony Hegarty, Blixa Bargeld, Gaspar Noé for Guest Vocals

Throbbing Gristle Announce 'Desertshore/Final Report,' Grab Antony Hegarty, Blixa Bargeld, Gaspar Noé for Guest Vocals
Six years after Throbbing Gristle first conceived their Desertshore project, which reinterprets Nico's 1970 album of the same name, the industrial music pioneers have finally announced they've completed the recordings and will release them later this fall.

The nine-song reinterpretation will come as part of a two-disc package that also includes the band's last recordings, which has the appropriate title Final Report, and the set arrives November 26 through the group's own Industrial Records.

CORRECTION: Desertshore/Final Report is credited to Chris Carter, Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson and Cosey Fanni Tutti, not Throbbing Gristle.

The last we heard from Throbbing Gristle about Desertshore, it was unclear if vocalist Genesis P-Orridge, who had quit the group in 2010, would participate. It turns out the singer won't be on the album, but the band managed to track down an impressive cast of collaborators to contribute vocals. Guests include Antony Hegarty of Antony and the Johnsons, Einstürzende Neubauten mastermind Blixa Bargeld, adult film actress Sasha Grey, Soft Cell's Marc Almond, and French filmmaker Gaspar Noé. Band member Cosey Fanni Tutti also sang a couple of numbers.

As for Final Report, it compiles recording sessions from Tutti, Chris Carter and the late Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson that took place at Carter's studio in Norfolk, England, between 2009 and 2010. A press release explains that the sessions "produced many hours of recordings, sound experiments, research in new performance possibilities, visuals, the ongoing design and building of new and innovative instruments; a constant restless exploration of new paths together."

You can peep the tracklist for the truncated presentation of these ideas down below, where you'll also find a pair of teaser clips for the set.


1. Janitor Of Lunacy (Vocals by Antony)

2. Abschied (Vocals by Blixa Bargeld)

3. Afraid (Vocals by Sasha Grey)

4. The Falconer (Vocals by Marc Almond)

5. All That Is My Own (Vocals by Cosey Fanni Tutti)

6. Mutterlein (Vocals by Blixa Bargeld)

7. Le Petit Chevalier (Vocals by Gaspar Noé)

8. My Only Child (Vocals by Cosey Fanni Tutti)

9. Desertshores

Final Report:

1. Stasis

2. E.H.S.

3. Breach

4. Um Dum Dom

5. Trope

6. What He Said

7. In Accord

8. Gordian Knot

9. Emerge To Space Jazz
10. The End

'Desertshore / The Final Report' teaser 1 from Industrial Records on Vimeo.

'Desertshore / The Final Report' teaser 2 from Industrial Records on Vimeo.