Three Mile Pilot Announce First New Album in over a Decade

Three Mile Pilot Announce First New Album in over a Decade
Pall Jenkins and Zach Smith (aka Armistead Burwell Smith IV) have definitely proven themselves in recent years with the Black Heart Procession and Pinback, respectively, but the much-anticipated new album from Three Mile Pilot, the band that began the San Diego indie rockers' illustrious musical lives, is now becoming a reality.

The Inevitable Past Is the Future Forgotten, Three Mile Pilot's first album in 13 years, is due for release on September 28 via Temporary Residence. The album is the influential band's follow-up to what was thought to be their last album, 1997's Another Desert, Another Sea (which still gets ridiculous amounts of spins on the Exclaim! staff's iPod's, by the way).

Three Mile Pilot formed in 1990 and recorded three albums between 1992 and 1997 before fading out in 1998. Rumours of Three Mile Pilot recording new material had been circulating for years, but the Black Heart Procession and Pinback - originally planned as Three Mile Pilot side-projects - both took off and the root band took a long hiatus.

Three Mile Pilot resumed in 2009, playing the 20th anniversary show of the Casbah, as well as the Touch and Go 25th anniversary show, and went on a North American tour. They then briefly signed to Touch and Go before moving over to Temporary Residence when Touch and Go went on a hiatus of its own.

The new 12-song album (featuring the cover above) is a return to form, recorded as a trio with original drummer Tom Zinser, and recorded and produced by the band in their home studios. It again combines the twisted, tangled melodies and haunting vocal lines that fans of the band had obsessed over on their previous three albums.

So far no live dates have been announced to support the album, but we're sure Three Mile Pilot fans are holding their collective breath and checking the band's MySpace daily in hopes they might again pass through their town.

The Inevitable Past Is the Future Forgotten:

1. "Battle"
2. "Still Alive"
3. "Grey Clouds"
4. "Same Mistake"
5. "What I Lose"
6. "Left in Vain"
7. "The Threshold"
8. "One Falls Away"
9. "Days of Wrath"
10. "Planets"
11. "What's in the Air"
12. "The Premonition"