'This Is Spinal Tap' Gets Vinyl Reissue

'This Is Spinal Tap' Gets Vinyl Reissue
Quasi-fictional heavy metal combo Spinal Tap delivered a deluxe 25th anniversary edition of their This Is Spinal Tap LP back in 2009, but now the album proper will be given a vinyl re-release as well. The repress drops June 11 via the Control Group.

A press release [via the L.A. Times] notes that this is the first time the soundtrack to the group's 1984 mockumentary is being presented on vinyl for the first time since its original release. Just like we saw happen to Smell the Glove, This Is Spinal Tap will arrive on black vinyl and come packaged with a black cover and a black inner sleeve. It will also feature liner notes from the "Rocklopedia Brittanicus."

While other reissues surfaced then previously unheard tunes like "Saucy Jack," the upcoming vinyl repressing preserves the original 11-song order of the soundtrack.

The press sheet reads, "Imagine the greatest record ever made by man. And then imagine that record as remastered by God himself. And then take that remaster and let Zeus and Ghandi have a freestyle rap battle over top of it. And then take that record and wipe This Is Spinal Tap's ass with it, because what we have here is without question the greatest record mankind has ever known remastered and reissued on vinyl for the first time since Polymer Records folded all those years ago."

While waiting for the reissue, why not crank up bass-heavy booty tune "Big Bottom" all the way up to 11 in the YouTube player down below?

This Is Spinal Tap:

1. Hell Hole

2. Tonight I'm Gonna Rock You Tonight

3. "Heavy Duty

4. "Rock and Roll Creation

5. "America

6. Cups and Cakes (arranged by Harlan Collins)

7. Big Bottom

8. Sex Farm

9. Stonehenge

10. Gimme Some Money

11. (Listen to the) Flower People