​The Rapture's Mattie Safer Announces 'All We Are' Solo EP, Premieres New Single

​The Rapture's Mattie Safer Announces 'All We Are' Solo EP, Premieres New Single
The Rapture called it quits a couple of years ago, though bassist Mattie Safer left the group back in 2009. Since then, he's taken his own music in a bit of a different direction and is ready to unveil his debut solo efforts with a new EP titled All We Are.

The five-song set is due out on May 27 and hears the musician moving away from club-centric music into the realm of soul-infused R&B jams. According to a press release, the new tracks present the listener with "a humanity that creates both a connective and dynamic experience."

Following Safer's experiences as a jazz school dropout and a member of the Rapture, his current musical approach is a "freer" one than listeners may have heard before. The new material arrives on the other side of five years of work and "some rough times" that resulted in an ex-manager, an ex-girlfriend and an ex-wife.

"I don't think that the things I went through are so unique," he explained in a statement. "This is a record about growing and growing up, me looking in the mirror and talking to myself. If any of that speaks to others people's experiences then I've done good work. If I can share through music and help other people, that's wonderful."

As for the sound, it was influenced by lessons he learned during previous collaborations between his former band and Timbaland, their experiences being on the road with Daft Punk, and his own affinity for soulful music from the likes of Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Sam Cooke and the Soul Stirrers, Mary J. Blige, Lauyn Hill, Erykah Badu, and D'Angelo.

In anticipation of the upcoming record, Safer has shared a brand new cut called "Sea Change" — and Exclaim! has got the exclusive premiere. Hear Safer's unique amalgamation of sonic influences converge on the first single from All We Are in the player below.

Scroll past the EP's tracklisting to give "Sea Change" a listen.

Safer will celebrate the release with a show at the Mint in L.A. on May 25.

All We Are:

1. Whenever You're Ready
2. Wherever I Go I Fall In Love
3. All We Are
4. Until the Day I Die
5. Sea Change