The Nils' Debut LP Gets Vinyl Reissue

The Montreal outfit's first album turns 30 this year
The Nils' Debut LP Gets Vinyl Reissue
The 1987 debut full-length from the Nils has become something of a Canadian cult classic, having gone on to influence members of Green Day, Hüsker Dü, Sloan and Superchunk. Now, the self-titled effort from the Montreal power-pop/punk outfit will be given the reissue treatment for its 30 year anniversary.

Label Obscura will bring the 10-track effort back to vinyl for the first time in decades on October 14. The deluxe remastered LP will arrive in a gatefold jacket with new artwork from Yorodeo, complete with archival photos and liner notes from The Big Takeover editor Jack Rabid.

The group, who reformed in 2015, will also play a show on October 17 at Ottawa's House of Targ for a show alongside the Steve Adamyk.

For those uninitiated, the Nils first released their Sell Out Young! EP in 1985 before delivering their debut through Profile Records in 1987. The band were then forced to abandon a coast-to-coast American tour upon Profile announcing its bankruptcy, still signed to a record deal with a non-existent company. 

You can stream the Nils' self-titled debut below, and pre-order the vinyl reissue here.

The Nils:

1. River of Sadness
2. Truce
3. If Heaven Lies
4. When Love Puts On A Sad Face
5. Wicked Politician
6. Bandito Callin'
7. In Between
8. But For Now
9. Young Man In Transit
10. Daylight

Tour dates:

10/17 Ottawa, ON - House of Targ*

* with Steve Adamyk Band