The Moles Return with First New Album in over 20 Years

The Moles Return with First New Album in over 20 Years
Despite offering up two new songs in 2014, Richard Davies's long-running Moles project hasn't issued a full-length in over 20 years. That all changes next month when the Aussie-bred psych-pop outfit deliver Tonight's Music via Fire Records.

Despite forming way back in 1988, this will only mark the Moles' third proper full-length when it arrives on August 12, marking the official follow-up to 1994's Instinct. A press release has Davies noting that he recorded the music in Boston, New York and Western Massachusetts "when ideas and opportunities came along." Helping him out on the sessions were Sebadoh's Bob Fay, former Sugar member Malcolm Travis, Free Time's Dion Nania, and Jarvis Taveniere of Woods.

The 24-song collection includes both "Beauty Queen of Watts" and "Chills," the songs Davies had issued digitally in 2014. That same year, the band's past was chronicled through Fire Records' Flashbacks and Dream Sequences: The Story of the Moles.

Below, you'll find a stream of Tonight's Music number "Dreamland," via Stereogum, as well as the previously shared "Damien Lovelock." There, you'll also find the record's tracklisting. That is the architectural album cover up above.

Tonight's Music:

1. Strange Summer
2. Head In The Speakers
3. Space Fever
4. Highbury And Islington
5. Needle And Thread
6. Slings And Arrows
7. Stray Dog
8. Red Carpet
9. Damien Lovelock
10. K.B.O.
11. Home For The Hobos
12. Are You Free Tomorrow?
13. Dreamland
14. Beauty Queen Of Watts
15. Chills
16. Out Of Thin Air
17. Room Temperature
18. You're In My Band
19. Hand Carved Imported Oil Painting
20. Shandy
21. Wear And Tear
22. Tonight's Music
23. Artificial Heart
24. Imperial Blues