Team Love Signs Norah Jones's Band, El Madmo

Team Love Signs Norah Jones's Band, El Madmo
Anyone who blindly passed Norah Jones off as jazz-lite pap for soccer moms and Wall Street suits, get ready to eat your words. After years of selling millions, Ravi Shankar's offspring has temporarily abandoned her life of luxury to delve into the starving artist world of indie rock. Jones's band, El Madmo, have signed with buddy Conor Oberst's Team Love label (Jenny Lewis, Tilly and the Wall) to release their debut self-titled album on May 20.

Curious to hear the Grammy winner outside of her jazzy comfort zone? You can check out the band's MySpace page to sample three cuts from the album. Otherwise, you can red this colourful description by someone in the band's camp:

Born of social ineptitude and an ageless belief in trick-or-treatery, EL MADMO offers escape, justice, karmic postulation, and that feeling you get when you know something that no one else does. Starting out as a garage band trapped in the basements of various hockey arenas, theirs is a powerfully raw sound that could only be inspired by the smell of Zamboni fuel and sweaty skates.
The band consists of guitarist/singer, Maddie, bassist/singer, El, and majestically afroed drummer, Mo. Their self-titled debut album is a solid piece of body rocking ear-munition revealing a musical labyrinth that challenges you to, "Choose your own adventure.” From the Aeolian darkness of "Vampire Guy”, to the sassy cha-cha of "Fantasy Guy”, to a song that simply asks, "What good is a smile when your head’s in a vise?”, EL MADMO serves up a hot and tasty meal that’ll fill you up and also "Rock Yer Balls Off.”

El Madmo tracklisting:

1. Carlo!
2. Head in a Vice
3. Vampire Guy
4. GGW
5. Sweet Adrenaline
6. Attack of the Rock People
7. The Best Part
8. Fantasy Guy
9. I Like it Low
10. Scary Lady
11. Nonny Goat Mon
12. Rock Yer Balls Off