Tame Impala's Cameron Avery Goes Solo for New LP, Shares "Wasted on Fidelity"

Tame Impala's Cameron Avery Goes Solo for New LP, Shares "Wasted on Fidelity"
In their downtime from Tame Impala, members of the Australian psych rock outfit have kept themselves busy with respective side projects. Now, touring bassist Cameron Avery is the latest to strike out with a separate release, announcing his solo debut Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams will land this March through Anti-.

Ten tracks in length, the album is said to offer "an ornate yet gritty sound" highlighted by Avery's channelling of "train-wreck romanticism into timeless music for the modern age." The record was written in Los Angeles, with Avery crediting the state of California for changing the "whole landscape of the record."

"I wanted to make something that sounded like the old records I love — Johnny Hartman, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Elvis Presley, Sarah Vaughan, Etta James — the big band stuff with less metaphorical lyrics," he said in a statement regarding the album's inspiration.

Along with the album announcement, Avery has shared album cut "Wasted on Fidelity," written about the state of mind following a failed relationship. 

"My mindset at the time was that the only way I could provide happiness for myself is if I paid for it," Avery said of the track. "The lyric says, 'I gave myself to the sure things'; if I bought a beer, or a whiskey, or other such indulgences I got to consume them…But it's kind of a dark mindset when you think about it: attempting to buy happiness."

Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams will arrive March 10 through Anti-. Read through the tracklisting to hear "Wasted on Fidelity" in the player below.

Ripe Dreams, Pipe Dreams:

1. A Time and Place
2. Do You Know Me By Heart?
3. Dance With Me
4. Wasted On Fidelity
5. Big Town Girl
6. Disposable
7. The Cry Of Captain Hollywood
8. Watch Me Take It Away
9. An Ever Jarring Moment
10. C'est Toi (extended)