Swollen Members' Madchild Announces Debut Solo Album 'Dope Sick'

Swollen Members' Madchild Announces Debut Solo Album 'Dope Sick'
BC rhymer Madchild made a name for himself as part of Swollen Members, but the Canadian rap vet will go it alone on his upcoming solo set, Dope Sick. The spitter's deeply personal debut arrives August 28 via Battle Axe/Suburban Noize Records.

A press release explains that the 16-song record was written as the MC was overcoming an addiction to oxycontin that "had spiraled out of control and destroyed everything the successful emcee had worked so hard to build with his platinum-selling hip-hop group Swollen Members." Apparently, a four-year stretch on the drug wiped out three million dollars' worth of assets from the troubled rapper.

After finally kicking oxycontin, Madchild spent 10 months working on Dope Sick. Joining him on the recording are Evidence, DJ Revolution, Rakaa Iriscience and Swollen buddy Prevail, among others. You can check the tracklisting down below and the album art up above.

While Dope Sick is labelled as his debut LP, Madchild has issued a number of EPs over the years. The most recent was 2012's Little Monster, which featured future Dope Sick numbers "Wanted" and "Fuck Madchild."

UPDATE: At the bottom of the page, you can watch the new video for the first album single "Out of My Head."

Dope Sick:

1. Devil's Reject (ft. DJ Revolution)
2. Grenade Launcher (ft. Prevail, Slaine)
3. Monster
4. Runaway
5. Oxylude
6. Wake Up
7. Battleaxe (ft. Evidence, Rakaa Iriscience, Bis)
8. Jitters (ft. Matt Brevner, Dutch Robinson)
9. Little Monster Blend
10. Judgement Day (ft. Sophia Danai)
11. Dickhead
12. Fuck Madchild (ft. Phil the Agony)
13. Mongoloid
14. Freak
15. Reaper
16. Wanted