Sun Kil Moon and the Album Leaf Team Up for Collaborative Album

Sun Kil Moon and the Album Leaf Team Up for Collaborative Album
There's certainly not going to be a shortage of Mark Kozelek material coming our way in 2013, with the prolific and sombre songwriter delivering two solo LPs in February. It's now been announced that another set from his separate Sun Kil Moon entity will arrive by the spring. It's a collaboration with post-rock soundscaper the Album Leaf (aka Jimmy LaValle) called Perils from the Sea, which will come out through Kozelek's Caldo Verde label on May 14.

A press release notes that this is the first tag-team effort from the duo, with Kozelek sowing the seeds for the song cycle back in the fall of 2011 when he asked LaValle to co-write a tune. The pair were apparently so pleased with their first attempt, "What Happened to My Brother," that they decided to shoot for an entire LP.

Perils from the Sea is said to scale things down from LaValle's often grand arrangements, with his "hypnotic synth sounds and drums beats" underscoring Kozelek's narratives. While sound samples have yet to arrive, the press sheet teases new tune "You Missed My Heart" as being inspired by "a nightmare [Kozelek] had in an Ontario hotel."

The duo will make their live debut at the UE Festival in Dordrecht, Holland, on May 11, and follow up that performance at London's Shepherd's Bush Empire on May 13.

Kozelek's most recent Sun Kil Moon LP was last May's Among the Leaves, while his Rats and Live at Phoenix Public House Melbourne will arrive through Caldo Verde on February 19. The Album Leaf's last release was this fall's Forward/Return EP.

Perils from the Sea:

1. What Happened To My Brother

2. 1936

3. Gustavo

4. You Missed My Heart

5. Caroline

6. Baby In Death Can I Rest Next To Your Grave

7. By The Time That I Awoke

8. Ceiling Gazing

9. Here Come More Perils From The Sea

10. He Always Felt Like Dancing

11. Somehow The Wonder Of Life Prevails