Sufjan Stevens Gloria! Songs for Christmas Vol. VI

Sufjan Stevens <i>Gloria! Songs for Christmas Vol. VI</i>
Photo: Denny Renshaw
Back in 2006, Sufjan Stevens released Songs for Christmas, a collection of five EPs he had previously recorded for friends and family. While he hasn't released any more Christmas albums since, he has evidently kept on making them, as we recently heard two tracks from another holiday EP he recorded with Aaron and Bryce Dessner of the National. Now, we have that entire previously unreleased EP.

It's called Gloria! Songs for Christmas Vol. VI, and it has eight tracks, including the already-released "Silent Night" and "Barcarola (You Must Be a Christmas Tree)." Most of the songs are originals, but there are also versions of "Coventry Carol" and "Auld Lang Syne." If you weren't a fan of this year's electro-laden The Age of Adz, you will be pleased to note that this EP is heavy on banjos, pianos, and other acoustic instruments.

Courtesy of Rawkblog, you can stream Gloria! Songs for Christmas Vol. VI below.