Sub Pop to Issue "Definitive" Vaselines Comp in May

Sub Pop to Issue "Definitive" Vaselines Comp in May
Influential Scottish indie heroes the Vaselines are next on deck to get the full reissue treatment courtesy of Sub Pop.

Come May 5, the Seattle label will release Enter the Vaselines, a "definitive collection" that will gather up and remaster all the band's singles and album tracks, as well as deliver new mixes, unheard demos and live recordings.

For the beginning half of the comp, the tracklisting will mirror that of Sub Pop's 1992 Vaselines comp, The Way of the Vaselines: A Complete History, which featured such classics as "Dying For It," "You Think You're a Man" and "Mosterpussy." Of course, also included in there are the tracks "Son of a Gun," "Molly's Lips" and "Jesus Doesn't Want Me for a Sunbeam," all three of which went on to be covered and popularized by diehard followers Nirvana.

And while having newly remastered versions of these songs will undoubtedly please more than a few indie poppers, it's the collection's latter half that's the real draw. Along with never-before-heard demos of "Son of a Gun," "Rosary Job" and "Red Poppy," it features tracks recorded during two classic Vaselines performances: one in Bristol in 1986 and another in London from 1988. Also, the whole set comes loaded with new cover art from the band and will be pressed up as a deluxe two-CD version, as well as a hefty triple-vinyl package.

Here are all the tracks Enter the Vaselines has to offer:

Disc 1:

1. "Son of a Gun"
2. "Rory Rides Me Raw"
3. "You Think You're A Man"
4. "Dying For It"
5. "Molly's Lips"
6. "Teenage Superstars"
7. "Jesus Wants Me For A Sunbeam"
8. "Sex Sux (Amen)"
9. "Slushy"
10. "Monsterpussy"
11. "Bitch"
12. "No Hope"
13. "Oliver Twisted"
14. "The Day I Was A Horse"
15. "Dum Dum"
16. "Hairy"
17. "Lovecraft"
18. "Dying For It (The Blues)"
19. "Let's Get Ugly"

Disc 2:

1. "Son of a Gun" (demo)
2. "Rosary Job" (demo)
3. "Red Poppy" (demo)
4. "Son of a Gun" (Live in Bristol, 1986)
5. "Rosary Job" (Live in Bristol, 1986)
6. "Red Poppy" (Live in Bristol, 1986)
7. "Rory Rides Me Raw" (Live in Bristol, 1986)
8. "You Think You're A Man" (Live in Bristol, 1986)
9. "Dying For It" (Live in London, 1988)
10. "Monsterpussy" (Live in London, 1988)
11. "Let's Get Ugly" (Live in London, 1988)
12. "Molly's Lips" (Live in London, 1988)
13. "The Day I Was A Horse" (Live in London, 1988)
14. "The Day I Was A Horse (Again)" (Live in London, 1988)
15. "Sex Sux (Amen)" (Live in London, 1988)
16. "I Didn't Know I Loved You ('Til I Saw You Rock 'n' Roll)" (Live in London, 1988)
17. "Teenage Superstars" (Live in London, 1988)