Steamboat 'Rules' (album stream)

Steamboat'Rules' (album stream)
Toronto's Steamboat have been making a name for themselves for the past several years, and now the band are finally ready to drop their debut full-length. Entitled Rules, it will be out on April 24, but you can listen to the whole thing now on

These soul-pop-leaning tunes were largely written by keyboardist Matt McLaren, but eclectic songstress Maylee Todd helped out with the lyrics for a couple songs. She also contributes vocals to the album. The band's seven-piece lineup is rounded by a host of players, including tambourine player Andrew Scott, who a press release hilariously refers to as Rambo of the Tambo.

The album was recorded at 6 Nassau Studios and Hallamusic. The band co-produced the album themselves alongside Jeff McMurrich (Fucked Up, Owen Pallett, Constantines). The arrangements were fleshed out with the help of a four-piece horn section.

Take a listen below. The band will be celebrating the release with a show on April 27 at Sneaky Dee's in Toronto.