Stars Announce New Album: The Five Ghosts

Stars Announce New Album: <i>The Five Ghosts</i>
It almost seems as if Toronto indie label Arts & Crafts hibernated this winter, only to blossom in the spring with all kinds of new release news. First, Zeus and Jason Collett, and Broken Social Scene all released or announced new records, and now orchestral pop maestros Stars have joined the party.

But Stars are now Arts & Crafts alumni, as the band will release The Five Ghosts on June 22, courtesy of their new label, Soft Revolution in Canada and on Vagrant in the U.S.

The new album was co-written by all five band members. In a statement about The Five Ghosts, singer Amy Millan says, "We have never written an album with this much cohesion and unity. It is the first time we've had the luxury of being together in a huge room writing songs off the floor."

The band have a pre-album tour in the works on which they'll play the new album in its entirety, though no dates have yet been announced. The first single from the album will be "Fixed," but again, no word yet on when it will drop.

The Five Ghosts:

1. "Dead Hearts"
2. "Wasted Daylight"
3. "I Died So I Could Haunt You"
4. "Fixed"
5. "We Don't Want Your Body"
6. "He Dreams He's Awake"
7. "Never Been Good With Change"
8. "The Passenger"
9. "The Last Song Ever Written"
10. "How Much More"
11. "Winter Bones"