Starfucker Unveil Polyvinyl Debut

Starfucker Unveil Polyvinyl Debut
After having briefly changed their name to Pyramiddd, Portland, OR electro-pop crew Starfucker signed a deal with Polyvinyl back in the summer. At the time, they unveiled new single "Julius." That track will reappear on the band's first Polyvinyl LP, Reptilians, and will be out March 8.

According to the description on Polyvinyl's website, the album was inspired by the passing of songwriter Josh Hodges' grandmother, as the lyrics "[focus] primarily on death and the end of the world."

Despite this gloomy subject matter, the album promises to be another upbeat offering from the dance floor-friendly group. It is a "blissfully buoyant affair" that will offer "vibrant crescendos, explosive drum beats and layered synth melodies." It was produced by Jacob Portrait (the Dandy Warhols).

The album is available in the usual CD, vinyl and digital formats. There's also a limited run of 700 clear vinyl copies. If you pre-order a physical copy of the album here, you will get an instant MP3 download, plus two bonus tracks.

Get "Bury Us Alive" here for the price of an email address, and check out "Julius," embedded below the tracklist.


1. "Born"

2. "Julius"

3. "Bury Us Alive"

4. "Mystery Cloud"

5. "Death as a Fetish"

6. "Astoria"

7. "Reptilians"

8. "The White of Noon"

9. "Hungry Ghost"

10. "Mona Vegas"

11. "Millions"

12. "Quality Time"