Squarepusher Details New Album, Hints at Andre 3000 Collaboration

Squarepusher Details New Album, Hints at Andre 3000 Collaboration
Last week, IDM guru Tom Jenkinson announced that he had a new Squarepusher album in the works. The album, Squarepusher Presents Shobaleader One: d'DEMONSTRATOR, is said to be "unlike anything Tom Jenkinson has done before." Now, we're happy to announce some details about it.

According to a Q&A with the artist posted to Warp's website, Jenkinson is utilizing a full band dubbed Shobaleader One for these recordings. "The overall aim is to articulate my music through the medium of a band," Jenkinson said. "I always thought that a band would be a limiting thing; I've got very used to being able to make music by programming or playing without having to explain anything to anyone, and I assumed it would slow everything down if I had to. Actually, it has made it quicker because I'm not trying to be four people simultaneously anymore."

The interview also explains that Jenkinson is already hard at work on a follow-up to this album. Then, as the ultimate tease, he drops this tiny gem: "I've also been in contact with Andre from Outkast recently." What that means is entirely open to interpretation, but we assume (and hope) the pair will collaborate on a track at some point in the future.

Squarepusher Presents Shobaleader One: d'DEMONSTRATOR will be released on October 19 via Warp. The album can be pre-ordered here, and a video for the track "Megazine" can be viewed below.

Squarepusher Presents Shobaleader One: d'DEMONSTRATOR:

1. "Plug Me In"
2. "Laser Rock"
3. "Into The Blue"
4. "Frisco Wave"
5. "Megazine"
6. "Abstract Lover"
7. "Endless Night"
8. "Cryptic Motion"
9. "Maximum Planck"

Squarepusher presents Shobaleader One - Megazine (taken from d'Demonstrator) from Warp Records on Vimeo.