Soul Jazz Celebrates All Things Krautrock on New Comp

Soul Jazz Celebrates All Things Krautrock on New Comp
Those who love Krautrock will soon be flipping their schnitzel over a new double CD/four-LP entitled Elektronische Musik: Experimental German Rock & Electronic Music 1972-1983, released by Soul Jazz Records. Featuring the likes of Can, Harmonia, Popol Vuh, Conrad Schnitzler, Tangerine Dream, Faust, Neu!, Cluster and Amon Düül II, it's a veritable who's-who in the weird and wonderful world of German '70s and '80s underground music.

As Soul Jazz writes on the label's website, "The objectives of German experimental rock and electronic music in the 1970s were to create a new music 'free' from the past. A music that gave seed out of the cultural 'nothingness' that young Germans felt as a consequence of Germany's role in the Second World War. A generation who grew up stifled by the recent history of Nazi atrocities, the guilt of their parents' generation and their disillusionment at the reintegration of old Nazis into mainstream society,"

The label likens the German scene to punk rock in the UK around the same time, mentioning how German youth turned their backs on mainstream society in a similar way to Britian's punk rockers, although perhaps with a little more radical an approach.

"From the opening of the first collective/cooperative in 1967, Commune 1, in Berlin, to the formation of the Baader-Meinhof terrorist group and the bombings, kidnappings and killings of the Revolutionary Armed Forces (RAF), young Germans sought out new values and a lifestyle outside of 'the system,'" Soul Jazz's post reads. "These cooperative and communal experiences led to a number of new radical German bands including Amon Düül, Faust and Can."

The two-disc or quadruple vinyl collection, available in early April, will feature 24 songs and, remember, a lot of this experimental German music featured songs well above the ten-minute mark.

Elektronische Musik: Experimental German Rock & Electronic Music 1972-1983:

Disc 1:

1. Can -€“ "Aspectacle"

2. Between -€“ "Devotion"

3. Harmonia -€“ "Dino"
4. Gila -€“ "This Morning"

5. Kollectiv -€“ "Rambo Zambo"

6. Michael Bundt -€“ "La Chasse Aux Microbes"

7. E.M.A.K. -€“ "Filmmuzik"

8. Popol Vuh -€“ "Morgengruss"

9. Conrad Schnitzler -€“ "Auf Dem Schwarzen Kanal"

10. La Dusseldorf -€“ "Rheinita"

11. Harmonia -€“ "Veterano"

12. Faust -€“ "It's A Rainy Day, Sunshine Girl"

13. Neu -€“ "Hallogallo"

Disc 2:

1. Cluster -€“ "Heisse Lippen"

2. Ibliss -€“ "High Life"

3. Moebius -€“ "Hasenheide"

4. Amon Duul II -€“ "Fly United"

5. Popol Vuh -€“ "Aguirre 1"

6. Ash Ra Tempel -€“ "Daydream"

7. Tangerine Dream -€“ "No Man's Land"

8. Amon Duul II -€“ "Wie Der Wind Am Ende Einer Strasse"

9. Roedelius -€“ "Geradewohl"

10. Can -€“ "I Want More"

11. Deuter -€“ "Soham"