The Sonics Toasted by Light in the Attic with 'Fifty' Box Set

The Sonics Toasted by Light in the Attic with 'Fifty' Box Set
In addition to an upcoming documentary, totally psycho Pacific Northwest garage rock legends the Sonics are set to be explored in a new vinyl box set as part of reissue hub Light in the Attic's upcoming wave of Black Friday-geared Record Store Day releases.

A press notes that a triple-LP set titled Fifty is due to land November 27. A celebration of the band's half-century together, it brings together 1965's Here Are the Sonics, the 1966 sophomore follow-up Boom, and a third piece of wax that features various rarities, alternate takes and live performances. All together, it collects 34 tracks from the group's Etiquette Records period.

Through it all, Fifty is said to highlight the Sonics' "raucous and righteous blend of vintage rock'n'roll and R&B." Signature cuts include "The Witch," "Psycho," "Boss Hoss," "Strychnine" and more.

In addition to the tunes, the box includes a 36-page booklet featuring an oral history of the Sonics' career, as told by the band members and Etiquette Records magnate Buck Ormsby. Fifty also comes with an 18x24-inch poster, and a download card.

In related news, it was revealed earlier this year that filmmaker Jordan Albertsen is putting together a documentary on the band titled BOOM! A Film About the Sonics. Expected to screen sometime in 2016, it will take a look at the Sonics' early period, through to present-day touring and the creation of this year's This Is the Sonics comeback LP.

With the upcoming Record Store Day event in mind, Light in the Attic has also revealed plans to deliver a limited-edition vinyl pressing of Lee Robinson Machine's Family Album. Originally issued on CD in 1997, the album was recorded by Robinson shortly before his death, and presents an "intensely personal and logistically desperate" collection of tunes.

The full list of Record Store Day's Black Friday exclusives is expected to be revealed on October 27.


1. The Witch
2. Do You Love Me
3. Roll Over Beethoven
4. Boss Hoss
5. Dirty Robber
6. Have Love Will Travel
7. Psycho
8. Money
9. Walking The Dog
10. Night Time Is The Right Time
11. Strychnine
12. Good Golly Miss Molly
13. Cinderella
14. Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark
15. Skinnie Minnie
16. Let The Good Times Roll
17. Don't You Just Know It
18. Jenny Jenny
19. He's Waitin'
20. Louie Louie
21. Since I Fell For You
22. Hitch Hike
23. It's Allright
24. Shot Down
25. The Witch (alternate take)
26. Keep A Knockin'
27. The Hustler
28. Psycho (live)
29. The Witch (live)
30. Santa Claus
31. It's Christmas
32. Don't Believe In Christmas
33. The Village Idiot
34. The Witch (switchblade version)