Sonic Youth Share Details About The Eternal

Sonic Youth Share Details About <i>The Eternal</i>
At long last, Sonic Youth have revealed all the pertinent details of the band's much-anticipated 16th album proper. Titled The Eternal, the Wipers-inspired record of "heavy ass weirdo hooks" and "juicy supersonic songs" has been given the release date of June 9th and will come out courtesy of SY's new non-major label home, Matador Records.

Recorded last year at the band's Echo Canyon West studio, the record again features Rather Ripped co-producer John Agnello behind the boards, with former Pavement bassist Mark Ibold taking Jim O'Rouke's spot as Sonic Youth's latest full-fledged member. And along with The Eternal being the band's first album on an indie in 18 years, Thurston Moore, Kim Gordon and Lee Ranaldo have marked another first by sharing lead vocal duties on several tracks.

"We've not had a record in our recent history that's been the subject of nearly as much speculation and anticipation," Matador's Gerard Cosloy says of The Eternal in the press release. "Suffice to say we're pretty amazed at the way the band delivered something this neoteric while still sounding like, well, themselves. Less of a reinvention and perhaps more to do with a particularly awesome dozen songs."

In addition to The Eternal (which features this rather awesome cover art by late guitar legend John Fahey), Sonic Youth also have tons of other stuff going on in their always busy schedules. On April 18, they will release two split seven-inches, one with Beck and another with Jay Reatard, as part of the Record Store Day celebrations. Also in April, the band will debut a stage collaboration with Led Zeppelin bassist John Paul Jones and composer Takehisa Kosugi written for the Merce Cunningham Dance Company. And next week Kim Gordon is launching her Mirror/Dash clothing line at, um, Urban Outfitters.

For now, the band only have a few live shows lined up, but a full-on summer tour is expected to be announced shortly, as well as Matador's Buy Early Get Now promotion for The Eternal, which promises "some very interesting bonus material."

The Eternal:

1. "Sacred Trickster"
2. "Anti-Orgasm"
3. "Leaky Lifeboat (for Gregory Corso)"
4. "Antenna"
5. "What We Know"
6. "Calming the Snake"
7. "Poison Arrow"
8. "Malibu Gas Station"
9. "Thunderclap for Bobby Pyn"
10. "No Way"
11. "Walkin Blue"
12. "Massage the History"

Sonic Youth live dates:

4/22 Krems, Austria - Donau Festival
4/23 Munich, Germany - Hans Der Kunst
4/24 Dusseldorf, Germany - 3001
5/16 Brooklyn, NY - Music Hall of Williamsburg (No Fun Fest)