Slug Guts Announce 'Playin' in Time with the Deadbeat'

Slug Guts Announce 'Playin' in Time with the Deadbeat'
You would have thought touring the world off last year's Howlin' Gang LP would have had Australia's Slug Guts thrilled to the gills about their lives, but it sounds as if 2011 was pretty rough on the post-punk troupe, both personally and professionally. The good news is they've channelled that hardship for yet another roughly hewn rock album, Playin' in Time With the Deadbeat.

A press release explains that the 12-song set, which Sacred Bones releases July 24, was written and recorded over a period that saw them touring the U.S., Japan and Australia. In theory, that sounds good, but apparently the same time period had the seven-piece outfit "endure trips to the mental hospital, jail, court trials, death, rehab, and bouts of violence." Life in the van apparently isn't all it's cracked up to be.

Regardless, the band persevered long enough to track another album's worth of material conjuring death rock sounds in the vein of the Gun Club and countrymates the Birthday Party. Highlights allegedly include the "cacophonous gallop" of opener "Scum," and the depraved, melancholic clanker "Adult Living." You can stream and download the latter over at Stereogum, as well as hear album cut "Stranglin' You Too" below.

Despite suffering the occasional bout of the road crazies, the group will be touring North America this fall, with specifics of their show schedule TBA.

Playin' In Time With the Deadbeat:

1. Scum
2. Old Black Sweats
3. Suckin' Down
4. Moving Heat
5. Order of Death
6. Adult Living
7. Blacksports
8. Playin' in Time With the Deadbeat
9. Stranglin' You Too
10. Blond Hairs
11. Glory Holes
12. Do You Wanna Hang Right There