Sleep Reissue Their 'Volume One' Debut

Sleep Reissue Their 'Volume One' Debut
Earlier this year, stoner rock icons Sleep delivered "The Clarity," their first new tune in close to 20 years, as a digital download and a self-released 12-inch single. Now, the trio are taking it back all the way to the beginning by offering up a reissue of their debut release, Volume One.

The latest edition arrives December 9 through Tupelo Recording Company. While a European bootleg made the rounds in 2013, this will be the first official vinyl pressing of Volume One since Tupelo Recording Company delivered it back in 1991.

A press release explains that Sleep's debut album was the only to feature guitarist Justin Marler, who would leave the band to become an Orthodox monk. The nine-song effort is said to have featured "a darker sound and stronger doom metal influence" than later LP's Holy Mountain and Dopesmoker.

You'll find the tracklisting info and a stream of the set's "Stillborn" down below, while you can see the album cover, which utilizes Salvador Dali's "Soft Self-Portrait with Fried Bacon," up above.

 Volume One:

1. Stillborn
2. The Suffering
3. Numb
4. Anguish
5. Catatonic
6. Nebuchadnezzar's Dream
7. The Wall Of Yawn
8. Prey
9. Scourge