Slayer/Faith No More Offshoot Dead Cross Announce Debut Album, Share New Track

Slayer/Faith No More Offshoot Dead Cross Announce Debut Album, Share New Track
Punk supergroup Dead Cross solidified their lineup late last year by welcoming vocalist Mike Patton to the fold. Now, they've shared a new track from their upcoming self-titled debut, which has now secured itself a release date.

Titled "Grave Slave," the punishing burst of hardcore is taken from the band's Dead Cross, due out on August 4 through Patton's Ipecac Recordings. You can hear Patton's vocal acrobatics in the player below.

As Patton told Rolling Stone, the album was recorded in his own basement. The group's other members, ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo (Suicidal Tendencies, Misfits), Justin Pearson (the Locust, Retox, Head Wound City) and Michael Crain (Retox, Festival of Dead Deer) had no idea what the vocalist's approach would be.

"It was a total surprise," Lombardo told the magazine. "At two in the morning, he'd email a song, and we'd listen to it and be floored. It's Patton singing hardcore. He's dabbled in it, but not in this capacity. I don't know what the hardcore community is going to do with all this information." 

Patton had this to say on the forthcoming debut LP:

To me, it is a traditional hardcore record...It is very pointed, direct and visceral. Like, I wasn't going to play keyboards, add samples or any kind of orchestration. It was like, 'Yo, just go for it.' In some ways, it reminded me of stuff that we had collectively all grown up with and loved when we were like teenagers — bands like the Accüsed, Deep Wound or Siege, stuff that was just brutal, uncompromising and right to the point. I was listening to all those bands again before this came to be, so it was already back infused in my blood. And now I got a chance to do a pencil-in-your-eye record.

Hear "Grave Slave" in the player below, where you'll also find the album tracklist. That's the LP's cover art above.

Dead Cross:

1. Seizure and Desist
2. Idiopathic
3. Obedience School
4. Shillelagh
5. Bela Lugosi's Dead
6. Divine Filth
7. Grave Slave
8. The Future Has Been Cancelled
9. Gag Reflex
10. Church of the Motherf*****s