Skull Disco To Close Shop

Skull Disco To Close Shop
Almost as quickly as it began, Skull Disco is calling it a day. Dubsteppers Shackleton and Appleblim have announced they are pulling the plug on their label only three years after it began, Fact reports. And while the influential dubstep label and its near-perfect mixes will be sorely missed, it does have a parting gift: the double-disc compilation Soundboy's Gravestone Gets Desecrated by Vandals.

The final Skull Disco chapter is set to drop sometime in mid-November, and the first disc will collect the tracks from "Skull 6” to "Skull 10,” minus Ricardo Villalobos's reworking of Shackleton's "Blood on My Hands” (SKULL007), which was already included on the imprint’s comp, Soundboy Punishments. As for the second disc, it will serve as a remix retrospective, with artists such as Pole, DJ/Rupture, Badawi and Peverelist taking on and reworking several classic Skull Disco tracks.

Shackleton and Appleblim have yet to reveal just why they are closing shop but perhaps they are simply bowing out while the getting is good.

Here is the tracklisting for Skull Disco’s Soundboy's Gravestone Gets Desecrated by Vandals:

Disc One:

1. Shackleton - "The Rope Tightens”
2. Appleblim & Peverelist - "Circling”
3. Shackleton - "Death Is Not Final”
4. Shackleton - "You Bring Me Down”
5. Appleblim & Peverelist - "Over Here”
6. Shackleton - "In The Void”
7. Shackleton - "The Branch Is Weak”
8. Shackleton - "Shortwave”
9. Appleblim - "Vansan”

Disc Two:

1. Appleblim - "Vansan” (T++ Remix)
2. Shackleton - "Shortwave” (Pole Remix)
3. Shackleton - "The Branch Is Weak” (Geiom Remix)
4. Shackleton - "In The Void” (Rupture Remix)
5. Appleblim & Peverelist - "Over Here” (Brendon Moeller Remix)
6. Shackleton - "You Bring Me Down” (Peverelist Remix)
7. Shackleton - "Death Is Not Final” (T++ Remix)
8. Appleblim & Peverelist - "Circling” (Bass Clef Remix)
9. Shackleton - "The Rope Tightens” (Badawi Remix)

Shackleton "I Am Animal”