Skinny Puppy Return with 'Weapon'

Skinny Puppy Return with 'Weapon'
Over 30 years into their career, Vancouver-bred electro-industrial pioneers Skinny Puppy have announced the latest chapter in their ongoing saga. Titled Weapon, the band's 12th studio LP drops May 28 via Metropolis Records.

As hinted at with the album title, the band's latest song cycle concerns itself with the glorification of gun culture and its effects on humanity, a press release notes, with "lyrics that reflect our mass homogenization of an instrument of death into an entertainment centerpiece."

"The human animal is a 'weapon,'" vocalist niVek ohGr said in a statement. "Every action and thought, conceived then carried out; whether political, physical or spiritual, has the potential to cause harm and misery; just as the same action, not underwritten with fear and misinformation, but carried by only positive intent would have the opposite effect."

Sonically, Weapon was apparently crafted with the spirit and sound of the band's early days in mind.

"We had some talk about doing an album with only the tools available at that earlier period of '83," ohGr explained. "What became clear, however, was a need to get back to simple and direct song writing with strong abstract themes that correlate to the deeper concepts within the recording."

While sound samples have yet to be offered, the press release notes that pulsating rhythms and analog synths flood tracks like "illisiT," "gLowbeL" and "tsudanama."

Weapon follows 2011's hanDover.


1. wornin'

2. illisiT

3. saLvo

4. gLowbeL

5. solvent

6. paragUn

7. survivalisto

8. tsudanama

9. plastiCage

10. terminal