Six Organs of Admittance Returns with 'Hexadic'

Six Organs of Admittance Returns with 'Hexadic'
Ben Chasny's already expansive catalogue as Six Organs of Admittance is about to get one album richer, with the prolific project set to issue a new LP in 2015. Hexadic drops through longtime label Drag City on February 17.

A press release notes that the two-and-a-half-year separation between the upcoming album and 2012's Comets on Fire-assisted Ascent is the longest gap between Six Organs of Admittance releases. Like that last LP, Hexadic was apparently prepped with loud guitars to "make heavy music with as few 'heavy' signifiers as possible." What's promised is plenty of the following: "Volume. Distortion. Impact!"

Previews from the set have not yet been let loose, but psych-rock vet Chasny crafted nine new compositions for Hexadic. Drag City explains that Chasny invented a "Hexadic System" of musical composition "designed to free sound and language from rational order and replace calculation with indeterminacy." Allegedly, the secrets behind the process will be explained not just through the album itself, but via "a deck of specially-created cards as well as a book explaining the workings of the System."


1. The Ram
2. Wax Chance
3. Maximum Hexadic
4. Hesitant Grand Light
5. Hollow River
6. Sphere Path Code C
7. Future Verbs
8. Vestige
9. GuildĀ