Shugo Tokumaru Announces North American Release of 'In Focus?'

Shugo Tokumaru Announces North American Release of 'In Focus?'
Japanese pop explorer Shugo Tokumaru's latest album, In Focus?, recently came out back in his homeland, and now he's preparing to give it a worldwide release. It will come out on our shores through Polyvinyl Records on January 22.

The album was recorded and mixed at Tokumaru's home studio during the first half of 2012 and then mastered at Abbey Road. Each of the 15 songs reportedly includes an average of 20 tracks and as many of hundreds of different parts.

A press release explains, "It's clear that Tokumaru has again succeeded in writing universal melodies while singing in his native Japanese."

For a taste of the album's lush arrangements and sunny sound scroll past the tracklist to check out the music video for "Decorate," which is also streaming in the SoundCloud player at the bottom of the page.

The album will be available on CD, clear vinyl (limited to 1,000 copies) and digital download.

In Focus?:

1. Circle

2. Katachi

3. Gamma

4. Decorate

5. Call

6. Mubyo

7. Poker

8. Ord Gate

9. Pah-Paka

10. Tightrope

11. Helictite (LeSeMoDe)

12. Shirase

13. Micro Guitar Music

14. Down Down

15. Balloon