Shintaro Sakamoto Reveals North American Release of 'Love If Possible,' Shares New Video

Shintaro Sakamoto Reveals North American Release of 'Love If Possible,' Shares New Video
At long last, bona fide Japanese rock hero Shintaro Sakamoto has announced his most recent album, Love If Possible, will be released here in North America. Following a domestic release in Japan earlier this year on his Zelone Records, Sakamoto's latest full-length will arrive on our shores on January 20.

Love If Possible follows Sakamoto's stellar 2014 effort Let's Dance Raw, marking his third solo album since the breakup of his old band, Japanese cult legends Yura Yura Teikoku.

Love If Possible was written and recorded by Sakamoto over the course of two years, and apparently follows the theme of "LOVE peeped out with a microscope," according to a press release.

Along with the album announcement, Sakamoto has shared a new video for the record's track "Disco Is." However, the video presents a vastly different version than that found on the actual full-length, with this "vocalized funk cover version" coming courtesy of Synsuke Ono. That said, the video does feature more than 600 pencil images drawn and then animated by Sakamoto.

The single for "Disco Is" arrives in North American tomorrow (November 18) and in Japan on Saturday (November 19) both digitally and as a 7-inch.

Check out the video for Synsuke Ono's "Disco Is" cover below the album's tracklist. At the bottom of the page, you can also watch a live studio video of Sakamoto and co. delivering the record's title track "Love If Possible."

Love If Possible:

1. Love If Possible
2. Tournament Of Macho Men
3. Another Planet
4. Purging The Demons
5. Like An Animal
6. Feeling Immortal
7. Others
8. Foolish Situation
9. Disco Is
10. Presence