Shannon Rose Adopts New Band Name Gold & Marrow, Announces 'Forever' LP

Shannon Rose Adopts New Band Name Gold & Marrow, Announces 'Forever' LP
A couple of years back, Shannon Rose & the Thorns released the album Seasons, but Rose and her band now have a new name and a new LP. Now known as Gold & Marrow, the Ottawa act will issue Forever on September 30.

The name change is a significant one, and Rose explained in a statement, "Both my writing and band members have been changing, and it felt like the right time for the name to change too. The marrow represents the essentialness of music for me, and the gold represents how we polish the songs through the process of rehearsing and recording."

Forever was made at Bova Lab Studio with producer Steve Matylewicz, who also serves as the band's guitarist. It features appearances from Hilotrons frontman Michael Dubue and Northcote mastermind Matt Goud. A press release describes the results as a "soulful collection of cinematic indie pop songs that are both dark and light."

Below, scroll past the tracklist and tour schedule to listen to the dark soul-rock slow-burner "My Heart 2." The peppy, cute folk-pop ditty "Hold My Fire" can be heard over at SoundCloud.

More tour dates will be announced in due course.


1. Lamb

2. Ides of March

3. Hold My Fire

4. Silence

5. My Heart 2

6. Fighter

7. Striking Gold
8. Ice and Snow

9. Something Divine

10. Forever

Tour dates:

09/20 Ottawa, ON - The Record Centre
10/04 Wakefield, QC - Black Sheep Inn *

* with the Visit