Sea Wolf Unveils 'Old World Romance'

Sea Wolf Unveils 'Old World Romance'
Following prior full-lengths in 2007 and 2009, Sea Wolf are preparing for another go-around as songwriter Alex Brown Church and his collaborators will release their third album, Old World Romance, on September 11 through Dangerbird Records.

While 2009's White Water, White Bloom was a more collaborative affair, this album found Church once again operating on his own terms.

"I really wanted to stay close to home, be in my own space and give myself room to explore and write and record on my own schedule," Church said in a statement. "I just felt I needed to bring Sea Wolf back to me, to my world."

He self-recorded and self-produced the album at home, with mixing by Kennie Takahashi (Broken Bells, the Black Keys, Queens of the Stone Age).

What results is said to be somewhat reminiscent of Sea Wolf's past work, but a press release notes that the project is now more "stripped-back and lean, simply melodic and brightly propulsive." Although Sea Wolf is more Church-centric this time around, there are still a handful of backing musicians on the record.

The frontman said, "This record is about a lot of things, but some of it is about coming home after being away and facing the realities of one's life, and life in general. Things you may have run away from, and things you are ready to embrace. Reconnecting and growing up."

Scroll past the tracklist to check out the gentle pattering of opening track "Old Friend."

Old World Romance:

1. Old Friend

2. In Nothing

3. Priscilla

4. Kasper

5. Blue Stockings

6. Saint Catherine St.

7. Changing Seasons

8. Dear Fellow Traveller

9. Miracle Cure

10. Whirlpool