Sally Shapiro, Au Revoir Simone On I'll Stay 'Til After Christmas Comp

Sally Shapiro, Au Revoir Simone On <i>I'll Stay 'Til After Christmas</i> Comp
Like it or not, Christmas is just around the corner, meaning so too are this year’s batch of Christmas comps. And by the looks of the upcoming I'll Stay 'Til After Christmas collection, we’re off to a promising start.

Due out as a digital-only affair, the compilation packs in 15 yuletide numbers by the likes of Sally Shapiro (pictured), Blitzen Trapper, Au Revoir Simone, Figurine, My Brightest Diamond, Parenthetical Girls and Vancouver’s very own No Kids. And considering that Christmas is all about the spirit of giving, the proceeds of the collection’s sale with go to benefit Amnesty International. So if you’re not already baring your charitable heart this season, you can do so now and get some good tunes out of the deal as well.

However, the press release tells us this is not some obnoxiously cheery, department-store-catered mix but rather "a more realistic, somewhat sombre feel” to the holidays.

The release goes on to say: "Unless you happen to belong to one of those rare, perfect, Norman Rockwell families, spending the holidays with your loved ones can have its ups and downs, its highs and lows — this Christmas album which benefits Amnesty International serves as a soundtrack to such an experience, documenting and representing the entire spectrum of emotions and feelings you might face during the most wonderful time of the year.”

I'll Stay 'Til After Christmas will be on sale via iTunes courtesy of AWR come December 2. Here’s the tracklisting:

1. Au Revoir Simone: "Christmastime Is Here"
2. Le Loup: "Shenandoah"
3. Figurine: "The Holidays Behind Us"
4. Sally Shapiro: "Anorak Christmas (Piano Mix)"
5. Arthur & Yu: "My White Elephant"
6. My Brightest Diamond: "Nature Boy"
7. Parenthetical Girls: "Festive Friends (Forever)"
8. No Kids: "Another Winter in a Summer Town"
9. Radar Bros.: "Baby Jesus"
10. Blitzen Trapper: "Christmas Is Coming Soon"
11. Man of Arms: "It's Christmastime and Everything's Wrong"
12. Au: "I'll Be Home for Christmas"
13. Papercuts: "Go Tell It on the Mountain"
14. Bosque Brown: "Silent Night"
15. Turk Dietrich of Belong: "Blue Christmas"

No Kids "Prisoner of Desire”