Sacred Bones to Release Pre-Cult of Youth Project the Hunt's "Lost" LP

Sacred Bones to Release Pre-Cult of Youth Project the Hunt's "Lost" LP
Since founding in 2007, Brooklyn imprint Sacred Bones has served up records from the likes of Zola Jesus, Cult of Youth, the Men and more, but it all started off with a 7-inch from gloomy post-punk crew the Hunt. Now, the label is announcing that it will mark its 100th release by issuing the Hunt's "lost" LP The Hunt Begins. The record arrives November 12.

A press release notes that while the group, featuring future Cult of Youth members Jasper McGandy & Christian Kount, were based in New York City, they travelled to their collective hometown of Boston to record the LP back in 2009. The outfit had apparently experienced "multiple tumultuous attempts" at recording a full-length prior to this, and the band broke up that year before the album could be issued. Four years later, the nine-song effort has been prepped as a posthumous release.

The Hunt's sound is said to be influenced by early post-punk acts like the Southern Death Cult and New Model Army, and you can judge that claim for yourself by streaming the record's "Fifteen Minutes" in the player down below. Up above, you'll find the artwork.

The special release will have the Hunt reforming for one final show, which takes place November 20 at New York's Home Sweet Home venue.

The Hunt Begins:

1. Mountains
2. Fifteen Minutes
3. Summer of Hate
4. Set the Rising Sun
5. Black and White
6. Scripts
7. Trainwreck
8. When The Sky Turns Black
9. One Thousand Nights