Ryuichi Sakamoto Books Rare North American Tour, Plays Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver

Ryuichi Sakamoto Books Rare North American Tour, Plays Montreal, Toronto, Vancouver
Many musicians support environmental causes, but few have taken the next step by making their tours carbon neutral. This fall, Japanese composer and YMO synth pop pioneer Ryuichi Sakamoto will do just that, embarking upon an ecologically sound North American tour that includes three Canadian dates: Montreal, Toronto and Vancouver.

During the solo tour, Sakamoto will make a carbon offset for any carbon dioxide emissions caused while on the road. The ten-date tour goes from coast-to-coast, so making it sustainable is an impressive undertaking.

In other exciting news, Decca will be releasing a double CD set on September 28, bringing together Sakamoto's two 2009 albums, Playing the Piano and Out of Noise, for a North American release. The former is made up of "self-covers" - that is, solo piano renditions of some of his previous works. This includes some of his famous film scores such as The Last Emperor, Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence and The Sheltering Sky.

Out of Noise is, according to a press release, "arguably Sakamoto's most ambitious work to date, in which he continues to explore the netherworld between music and noise that has fascinated him for years." It features frequent collaborator Fennesz, Cornelius, British neoclassicists Fretwork and Icelandic multi-instrumentalist Skuli Sverrisson.

See the dates for Sakamoto's sustainable tour below. See the tracklist for the double CD set below that.

Tour dates:

10/17 Glenside,PA - Keswick Theatre
10/18 New York, NY - Skirball Center for the Performing Arts
10/20 Boston, MA - Berklee School of Music
10/22 Montreal, QC - Outrement Theatre
10/24 Toronto, ON - Queen Elizabeth Theater
10/27 Chicago, IL - Vic Theatre
10/30 Seattle, WA - Moore Theatre
11/1 Vancouver, BC - Vogue Theater
11/3 San Francisco, CA - Regency Ballroom
11/5 Los Angeles, CA - El Rey

Playing the Piano  

1. "Amore"
2. "Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence"
3. "A Flower Is Not a Flower"
4. "The Sheltering Sky"
5. "Tamago 2004"
6. "The Last Emperor"
7. "Tibetan Dance"
8. "Thousand Knives"
9. "Riot in Lagos"
10. "Reversing"
11. "Mizu No Naka No Bagatelle"
12. "Bolerish"  

Out of Noise

1. "Hibari"
2. "Hwit"
3. "Still Life"
4. "In the Red"
5. "Tama"
6. "Nostalgia"
7. "Firewater"
8. "Disko"
9. "Ice"
10. "Glacier"
11. "To Stanford"
12. "Composition 0919"