Rufus Wainwright Announces Best-Of Compilation, Gathers Rarities for Deluxe Edition

Rufus Wainwright Announces Best-Of Compilation, Gathers Rarities for Deluxe Edition
Theatrical Canadian songwriter Rufus Wainwright is currently working on a new opera, but as he goes about writing the music, he's taking a look back on his back catalogue with Vibrate: The Best of Rufus Wainwright. It's due out March 4 through Universal Music Canada.

The standard version of the album includes 18 career-spanning cuts, including one new tune called "Me and Liza," which was co-written with Guy Chambers. The deluxe edition comes with a bonus disc containing 16 rare tunes, including live and studio material; some of these songs have never been available on a physical release until now, including the new tune "Chic and Pointless."

See the tracklist below. Note that it includes Wainwright's cover of Leonard Cohen's "Hallelujah," while his version of the Beatles' "Across the Universe" is on the bonus disc.

As for that opera, it's been commissioned by the Canadian Opera Company and is based on the story of Roman Emperor Hadrian and and his young lover Antinous. Wainright is working with playwright Daniel MacIvor, and the opera will premiere in Toronto in October 2018.

Vibrate: The Best of Rufus Wainwright:

1. Going to a Town
2. Out of the Game
3. Me and Liza
4. Hallelujah
5. Oh What A World
6. April Fools
7. Poses
8. Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk
9. Vibrate
10. The One You Love
11. I Don't Know What It Is
12. The Art Teacher
13. Go or Go Ahead
14. Dinner at Eight
15. Foolish Love
16. Sometimes You Need
17. Grey Gardens
18. Tiergarten  

Bonus disc:

1. Bitter Tears
2. The Maker Makes
3. Across the Universe
4. La Complainte de la Butte
5. Chelsea Hotel No.2
6. Chic and Pointless
7. WW111
8. Jericho (Live from the Artists' Den spring 2012)
9. Montauk (Live from the Artists' Den spring 2012)
10. If Love Were All (Live at Kenwood House summer 2010)
11. Do It Again (Live At Kenwood House summer 2010)
12. Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart (Live at Kenwood House 2010)
13. Memphis Skyline (Live at Kenwood House 2010)
14. Martha (Live at Kenwood House 2010)
15. One Man Guy (Live at KCRW June 2001)
16. Jo Whiley BBC interview (Royal Opera House July 2011)