The Roots Unveil Details for John Legend-aided Covers Album

The Roots Unveil Details for John Legend-aided Covers Album
Even though they just dropped their long-anticipated How I Got Over, the Roots still have another ace up their sleeve: the previously reported, Arcade Fire-inspired covers album the band recorded, which now has a release date and a series of other vital details.

Wake Up! is now due for release September 21 from Sony Music. The album, which was performed collaboratively with John Legend, will feature the prolific hip-hop outfit covering protest songs and conscious soul classics from '60s and '70s artists. Though a tracklist has yet to surface, Billboard reports that the album will include Marvin Gaye's "Wholly Holy," Donny Hathaway's "Little Ghetto Boy," Baby Huey and the Babysitters' "Hard Times," and Mike James Kirkland's "Hang on in There." The first single, Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes' "Wake Up Everybody," will feature guest spots by Common and Melanie Fiona.

The album will include one original, in the form of Legend's "Shine," his contribution to the soundtrack of the documentary Waiting for "Superman.

It's still unconfirmed whether the aforementioned songs by Roberta Flack and Nina Simone will be included on the album.

A live performance of "Hard Times" can be viewed below.