The Rock*A*Teens Treat 'Sweet Bird of Youth' to First Vinyl Pressing via Merge

The Rock*A*Teens Treat 'Sweet Bird of Youth' to First Vinyl Pressing via Merge
Following recent represses of Lambchop and Superchunk LPs as part of Merge Records' 25th anniversary celebrations, the label will next issue the first-ever vinyl pressing of the Rock*A*Teens' 2000 swan song Sweet Bird of Youth.

The Atlanta outfit's last album comes out as a double LP on June 3, with the platter also being packaged with a bonus download of one of their final shows before breaking up in 2002.

As for the album proper, a press sheet explains that guitarist Chris Lopez recorded the basic tracks on keyboards and guitar on his own before the rest of the group convened at their rehearsal space in Cabbagetown, GA, to finish the set. Guest appearances from members of Ultrababyfat gave "If I Wanted to Be Famous (I'd Have Shot Someone)" a '60s-era Phil Spector flavour, while a duet between Shannon Wright and Lopez on "It's Destiny" is described as "achingly spare."

Down below, you'll find the tracklisting info for the repress and its accompanying live set.

The Rock*A*Teens have also announced that they'll be participating in this spring's Merge 25 Festival in Carrboro, NC, along with other roster vets, which will be part of a small East Coast tour. You'll find that info at the bottom of the page as well.

Sweet Bird of Youth:

1. Car and Driver

2. If I Wanted to Be Famous (I'd Have Shot Someone)

3. Please Don't Go Downtown Tonight

4. Betwixt or Between

5. Make It New Again

6. Sun's Up

7. It's Destiny

8. Hwy R

9. If You Only Knew

10. I Hope You'll Never See Me Like This

11. That Day Is Today

12. Ma, Look What the City Did To Me

13. Our Future Was Then

14. Lee Knows Every Raindrop

15. Put It Right Out of Your Mind

16. No Books About It

17. Pretty Thoughts Strike Down the Band

Live at The Caledonia Lounge, Athens, GA, 12/30/02:

1. I Could've Just Died

2. Tuesday's Just as Bad

3. If You Only Knew

4. Lady Ben

5. Cherry Red Compilation

6. Car and Driver

7. Stranger Coming

8. Don't Destroy This Night

9. Inseparable

10. Black Metal Stars

11. It's Too Bad Luv He's a Sad One

12. Betwixt or Between

13. I'm Your Puppet

14. These Starving Heartists

15. Arm in Arm, In the Golden Twilite, We Loitered On

16. Please Don't Go Downtown Tonight

Tour dates:

05/16 Charleston, SC - Royal American

05/17 Charleston, SC - Tin Roof

06/06 Atlanta, GA - The Earl

06/07 Atlanta, GA - The Earl

07/12 Athens, GA - 40 Watt

07/24 Carrboro, NC - Cat's Cradle (Merge 25 Festival)

08/07 Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda's

08/08 Boston, MA - Middle East Upstairs

08/09 Brooklyn, NY - Glasslands

08/10 New York, NY -  Le Poisson Rouge