Richard Ashcroft Returns with First Solo Album in Six Years

Richard Ashcroft Returns with First Solo Album in Six Years
Richard Ashcroft has taken his sweet time to follow up 2010's United Nations of Sound, but the Verve frontman will finally issue his next symphonic solo album this spring. Titled These People, the album can be sampled by the masses on May 20 via his newly formed Righteous Phonographic Association label and Cooking Vinyl.

The new album features 10 tracks recorded in London, with Ashcroft sharing production duties with Chris Potter. The sessions reunited Ashcroft with Wil Malone, who had arranged strings on the Verve's A Northern Soul and Urban Hymns, as well as Ashcroft's 2000 solo debut, Alone with Everybody.

While working with some familiar players, Ashcroft was found "experimenting with new and old equipment trying to find new textures and sounds to accompany ancient art," according to the press release.

Of the direction of the LP, Ashcroft explained that the record was made during this "sick nihilistic age of war," with the songs taking a look at the personal and the political.

"Some personal and world events take a darker turn leading to a sense of urgency and a clearing of the mind," he said in a statement. "My lane in the chaos becomes clearer."

Down below, you'll find the full tracklisting info for These People, as well as a stream of string-laden first single, "This Is How it Feels."

These People:

1. Out Of My Body
2. This Is How It Feels
3. They Don't Own Me
4. Hold On
5. These People
6. Everybody Needs Somebody To Hurt
7. Picture Of You
8. Black Lines
9. Ain't The Future So Bright
10. Songs Of Experience