Ricardo Villalobos Releases New Album: 'Dependent and Happy'

Ricardo Villalobos Releases New Album: 'Dependent and Happy'
Minimal techno champ Ricardo Villalobos doesn't shy away from ambitious projects. Last year he teamed up with Max Loderbauer for a double LP reinterpretation of the German jazz label ECM's catalogue. Now, the Chilean-German producer has unveiled a new album that spans a whopping five twelve-inches.

The collection is called Dependent and Happy and it's being released through Perlon. It's also available to order in multiple parts through Wall & Sound or deejay.de.

Available to order now, the vinyl version includes 14 tracks spread across the ten sides, meaning that some of the 12-inches include just two tracks. There's also a CD version, due out September 24, that will collect 11 of the songs onto one disc. See the tracklists of both versions below.

The distributor describes the collection like this: "14 freefloat sessions are made of natural, secret ingredients from the limbic system of astro aztecs. They evolve from rituals, ending in the release of the sinuous percussion ghost from the machine who breathes out a score for easy living. Which sounds like a primordial soup aerosol of funky molecules and molluscs."

Thanks to XLR8R for the tip.

Dependent and Happy (vinyl):

A1. Tu Actitud

B1. Timemorf

C1. Grumax

C2. I'm Counting

D1. Das Leben Ist So Anders Ohne Dich

D2. Mochnochich

E1. Zuipox

F1. Kehaus

F2. Die Schwarze Massai

G1. Put Your Lips

H1. Samma

H2. Ferenc

I1. Defixia

J1. Koito

Dependent and Happy (CD):

1. Mochnochich

2. Timemorf

3. Grumax

4. Ferenc

5. I'm Counting

6. Put Your Lips

7. Samma

8. Tu Actitud

9. Zuipox

10. Koito

11. Die Schwarze Massa