Red Hot Chili Peppers Reveal New 7-Inch Series

Red Hot Chili Peppers Reveal New 7-Inch Series
When the Red Hot Chili Peppers released I'm with You last year, it was their first album in five years. Luckily for fans of the veteran California funk band, we won't have to wait nearly that long until we hear new material from the band, since they've announced plans to release a string of seven-inches throughout the remainder of 2012.

The band have yet to officially announce the project, but news of the singles has emerged though a series of comments by the members. Flea tweeted on Monday (May 28), "We have been writing stuff while touring. We are also going to put out 18 new songs over the next 6 months on 7 inch and digi."

Drummer Chad Smith confirmed that some of the new tracks are actually B-sides from I'm with You, tweeting, "Over the next 6 months at least 10 more IWU b sides I promise!"

He also confirmed that the songs would be released digitally and on seven-inch vinyl.

Additional confirmation came from singer Anthony Kiedis, who said during a concert in Grand Rapids, MI, on May 26, "We got a storm of seven-inches coming out over the next six months. Keep one eye open." Watch video of that announcement in the clip embedded below.

In other words, expect the Chili Peppers to keep pace with former member John Frusciante's now-busy release schedule.

Thanks to Stadium Arcadium for the tip.