William Basinski, Fennesz, Wolf Eyes Create Disintegrating Songs for New RBMA Series

William Basinski, Fennesz, Wolf Eyes Create Disintegrating Songs for New RBMA Series
Montreal is set to play host to the 2016 edition of the Red Bull Music Academy this fall, but before the full month of concerts and workshops takes over the city, the academy has launched an experiment in musical ephemerality with Shattered Streams.

Taking place each day throughout the month of May, the series will feature new music from 31 artists in what a press release describes as "an immersive yet ultimately finite listening experience." A different song will be streamed each day on a loop for a 24-hour period with accompanying visuals, with both degrading over time until they disappear.

As users navigate the site, they will be able to set different lengths of degradation, from five minutes to a full day. The press release reveals that the series was inspired by "the fleeting ecstasy of William Basinski's The Disintegration Loops and the modern emphasis on streaming-centric platforms conforming to listener's usage and fidelity needs."

Today's track comes from Basinski himself, while later works in the series will come from Fatima Al Qadiri, Wolf Eyes, Jefre-Cantu Ledesma, Eluvium, Fennesz, Sepalcure, Oren Ambarchi, Egyptrixx and more. Find the entire list of musical contributors below before experimenting with Shattered Streams for yourself here.

Shattered Streams featured artists:

05/01 - Anenon
05/02 - William Basinski
05/03 - Fatima Al Qadiri
05/04 - Eluvium
05/05 - patten
05/06 - Joey Anderson
05/07 - Claude Speeed
05/08 - White Visitation
05/09 - Fennesz
05/10 - Klara Lewis
05/11 - Beatrice Dillon
05/12 - Zebra Katz
05/13 - Aurora Halal
05/14 - EVOL
05/15 - Jefre-Cantu Ledesma
05/16 - M. Geddes Gengras
05/17 - Mumdance
05/18 - Kuedo
05/19 - Sepalcure
05/20 - Nkisi
05/21 - Oren Ambarchi
05/22 - $3.33 / Celia Hollander
05/23 - Egyptrixx
05/24 - John Roberts
05/25 - Wolf Eyes
05/26 - Tin Man
05/27 - Hieroglyphic Being
05/28 - Kara-Lis Coverdale
05/29 - Ipek Gorgun
05/30 - Aisha Devi
05/31 - Lesley Flanigan