Rare Nine Inch Nails Remixes Unearthed on Coil EP

Rare Nine Inch Nails Remixes Unearthed on Coil EP
British avant-garde duo Coil, who disbanded in 2004 following the passing of founding member John Balance, had some rare Nine Inch Nails remixes hit the web last year. Now, those tracks are being prepared for a new EP.

The Cold Spring record label is currently prepping the band's remixes for release. The remixes themselves utilized Trent Reznor's original DATS for the songs "Gave Up," "Closer," "The Downward Spiral," "Eraser" and many more. The duo's remix of "Closer" was used in the opening credits of David Fincher's Se7en.

Four of the remixes are set to be released on a digital EP called Recoiled. A fifth song will be added to the vinyl and CD version, which arrives on January 23.

In a press release, the label said, "These five lengthy compositions are pre-Ableton/laptop generation type priest song creations... with the use of baby alarms and numerous wires to create bespoke effects. These legendary tracks were always rumored to exist and, only the due diligence of a dedicated NIN forum who hunted them down, are released/unleashed for your listening pleasure."

The original bootleg EP of remixes, which is called Uncoiled, can be streamed below.

Thanks to FACT for the tip.