Queens of the Stone Age to Give Rated R the Reissue Treatment

Queens of the Stone Age to Give <i>Rated R</i> the Reissue Treatment
It's hard to believe it's been ten years since Queens of the Stone Age hits us with the repetitive slogan of "nicotine, valium, vicodin, marijuana, ecstasy and alcohol" to open their 2000 sophomore album, Rated R. Well, in case your memory is getting foggy, the album, featuring the timely "Feel Good Hit of the Summer" as its opening track, will get the full reissue treatment on August 3 courtesy of Interscope/UMe.

The new version Rated R will be a double-CD package including the original 11-track album, as well as second disc of extras. Along with two B-sides, "Ode to Clarissa" and "You're So Vague," the second CD will feature Romeo Void and Kinks covers, one live song ("Monsters in the Parasol"), and one new version of an older song ("Born to Hula"). It will also include nine unreleased songs from the band's 2000 Reading set, which will tie in nicely with their 2010 Reading appearance on August 27.

Meanwhile, as we told you last week, Josh Homme's Rekords Rekords imprint recently started a new partnership with Dangerbird Records in the U.S.

Rated R reissue:

Disc 1:

1. "Feel Good Hit of the Summer"
2. "The Lost Art of Keeping a Secret"
3. "Leg of Lamb"
4. "Auto Pilot"
5. "Better Living Through Chemistry"
6. "Monsters in the Parasol"
7. "Quick and to the Pointless"
8. "In the Fade"
9. "Tension Head"
10. "Lightning Song"
11. "I Think I Lost My Headache"

Disc 2:

1. "Ode to Clarissa"
2. "You're So Vague"
3. "Monsters in the Parasol" (live)
4. "Born to Hula" (new version)
5. "Never Say Never" (Romeo Void cover)
6. "Who'll Be the Next in Line" (Kinks cover)
7-16. Live tracks from 2000 Reading Festival