Quebec Independent Music Awards (GAMIQ) Winners Announced

Quebec Independent Music Awards (GAMIQ) Winners Announced
The Quebec Independent Music Awards held its 2007 awards ceremony last night (Sunday, September 16) at the Metropolis club in Montreal. Recognising achievements by independently produced Quebec artists the GAMIQs were hosted by Rémi-Pierre Paquin and Kim Bingham. Both Patrick Watson and Arcade Fire led the way with three albums each, including Artist of the Year and the rather bizarre International Career of the Year, respectively.

Here is a list of the winners:

Artist Of The Year: Patrick Watson
Songwriter Of The Year: Patrick Watson
International Career Of The Year: Arcade Fire
Show Of The Year: Arcade Fire
Breakthrough Artist Of The Year: Tricot Machine
Best Chanson Album: Tricot Machine / Tricot Machine
Best Electro Album: L’idéologie des stars / Numéro#
Best Experimental Album: Sangue Puro / Les Georges Leningrad
Best Folk/Country Album: Les hommes des tavernes / Les Fréres Cheminaud
Best Hip-Hop Album: Trop banane!/ Omnikrom
Best Indie Pop Album: Close To Paradise / Patrick Watson
Best Indie Rock Album: Neon Bible / Arcade Fire
Best Metal/Hardcore Album: Katorz / Voïvod
Best Punk Album: Compter les corps / Vulgaires Machins
Best Rock’n’roll Album: Gisèle / Xavier Caféïne
Best World/Trad Album: Mia Dolce Vita! / Marco Calliari
Tribute award: Me Mom and Morgentaler

Patrick Watson "The Great Escape"

Arcade Fire "Intervention"