Prism Prize Announces 2015 Nominees

Prism Prize Announces 2015 Nominees
This is the third year of the Prism Prize, the juried Canadian award that celebrates our country's best music videos from the past year. The 2015 winner will be announced on March 29, and this year's top 10 nominees have now been announced.

This year's nominees are as follows:

Rich Aucoin - "Yelling in Sleep" (dir. Joel Mackenzie)
Kevin Drew - "You in Your Were" (dir. Samir Rehem)
Fur Trade - "Same Temptation" (dir. Kheaven Lewandowski)
Ryan Hemsworth - "Snow in Newark" (dir. Martin C. Pariseau)
Kandle - "Not Up to Me" (dir. Natalie Rae Robison)
The New Pornographers - "Dancehall Domine" (dir. Scott Cudmore & Michael Leblanc)
Odonis Odonis - "Order in the Court" (dir. Lee Stringle)
PUP - "Guilt Trip" (dir. Chandler Levack & Jeremy Schaulin-Rioux)
Timber Timbre - "Beat the Drum Slowly" (dir. Chad VanGaalen)
Chad VanGaalen - "Monster" (dir. Chad VanGaalen)

As some may remember, Rich Aucoin won the first-ever Prism Prize back in 2013 with "Brian Wilson Is A.L.I.V.E."

This is clearly a big year for Chad VanGaalen, who animated two of these clips. Not only did he do his own "Monster," but he animated Timber Timbre's "Beat the Drum Slowly." He previously animated the 2013 Prism Prize-nominated clip for Mother Mother's "The Sticks."

The Prism Prize nominees are selected by a jury of Canadian music and film industry professionals. The videos will be screened at the TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto on March 29. The winner will be announced at the end of the evening, with the recipient taking home $5,000.

There will also be an Audience Award, the Arthur Lipsett Award to recognize "innovative and unique approach to music video art," and the Special Achievement Award to honour "a Canadian music video artist for their artistic achievements and exceptional contribution to music video art on a world stage."

Last year, Arcade Fire took home the Prism Prize for "Afterlife."