Prefuse 73 Begins Album Trilogy in April

Prefuse 73 Begins Album Trilogy in April
As usual, glitch rap guru Guillermo Scott Herren has piles of stuff going on to tell you about, so we're going to cut the chit-chat and get right down to it.

First up, Herren has fleshed out all the details of his first Prefuse 73 album in nearly two years. Dubbed Everything She Touched Turned Ampexian, the record is due out April 14 via Warp on CD and digitally (yep, no vinyl on this one, guys).

To cut and paste a little from the press release: "For Everything She Touched Turned Ampexian, Herren rejected the idea of straight digital recording and instead went the much more intensive route of recording to analog Ampex tape, giving the album the sound of a lost tape of exploratory studio musicians from the not-too-distant past. In addition to the recording process, Ampexian also differs in its composition, existing as a tapestry of tracks of varying lengths and moods, albeit with a remarkable linear flow and, of course, unmatched rhythmic bump."

The album also comes loaded with 29 tracks, a ridiculously progged-out album cover (see above) and the now-streaming teaser track "Preparations Kids Choir," which is currently available over here. This particular Ampexian song will also be due out on another forthcoming Prefuse 73 release, an EP titled The Forest of Oversensitivity, which is due out sometime this summer on Warp.

Ampexian also apparently marks the beginning of a "three-album release cycle" for Herren. In April, he plans to release a Warp LP titled Ice Capped at Both Ends by his newly minted Diamond Watch Wrists, a joint project between Herren and Hella drum machine Zach Hill. Then in May, Herren is taking back his Savath y Savalas moniker to release yet another record dubbed La Lama, which this time will be released courtesy of Stones Throw.

On top of all this, there is a big Prefuse 73 summer tour in the works and the dates are expected to be announced shortly.

While we waiting, here's the massive tracklist for Everything She Touched Turned Ampexian:

1. "Periodic Measurements of Infrequent Smiles"
2. "Hairy Faces (Stress)"
3. "Parachute Panador"
4. "NoNo"
5. "Punish"
6. "Half up Front"
7. "Sexual Fantasy Scale"
8. "DEC. Machine Funk all ERA's"
9. "Get em High"
10. "Ampexian Tribe of a Lesser Time"
11. "When Is a Good Time?"
12. "Fountains of Spring"
13. "Whipcream Eyepatch"
14. "Regalo"
15. "Rubber Stems"
16. "Oh Is it"
17. "Four Reels Collide"
18. "Fringertip Trajectories"
19. "Violent Bathroom Exchange"
20. "Natures Uplifting Revenge"
21. "Yuletide"
22. "Simple Loop Choir"
23. "No Lights Still Rock" (Feat. Dimlite)
24. "Gaslamp Killer Feedback Text"
25. "Digan Lo"
26. "Preperation's Kids Choir"
27. "Pitch Pipe"
28. "Periodic Measurements of Infrequent Frowns"
29. "Formal Dedications"