The Posies Team Up with Broken Social Scene's Lisa Lobsinger for New Album

The Posies Team Up with Broken Social Scene's Lisa Lobsinger for New Album
Seattle, WA-based power pop icons the Posies have quite the soft spot for Canada. First, there was their recent stint at the Sled Island Festival. Now, they've announced that Broken Social Scene's Lisa Lobsinger will be collaborating with them on their new album.

Speaking with NME, Posies frontman Ken Stringfellow explained that the collaboration stemmed from a friendship with Lobsinger, who got her start in the now-defunct, but much-loved, Calgary, AB outfit Reverie Sound Revue.

"Our drummer Darius [Minwalla] knows Lisa, so we hung out and had some wine at this festival in Seattle and it went from there," Stringfellow explained. "She has a very pure voice and for me, the track she appears on ['Licenses To Hide'] with me is very bombastic and over the top in a wonderfully melodic way, a bit like a Broadway song."

In addition to Lobsinger's collaboration, the band also recruited former Stranglers frontman Hugh Cornwell for the song "Plastic Paperbacks." "It was really cool having Hugh on there because we've never had a British voice on one of our albums," Stringfellow said. "It's similar to some of the Stranglers songs. He speaks the words and I thought that'd be perfect for this song. It's just so cool; as soon as he starts speaking, he goes, 'hard man' in that weird way."

The Posies' new album is called Blood/Candy and will be released on September 28 via Rykodisc.


1. "Plastic Paperbacks"

2. "The Glitter Prize"

3. "Licenses To Hide"

4. "So Caroline"

5. "Take Care Of Yourself"

6. "Cleopatra Street"

7. "For The Ashes"

8. "Accidental Architecture"

9. "She's Coming Down Again!"

10. "Notion 99"

11. "Holiday Hours"

12. "Enewetak"