Porcupine Tree Lightbulb Sun

After taking a step closer to the mainstream with their previous release, 1999's Stupid Dream, Steve Wilson's modern psychedelic supergroup takes a step backwards with their newest effort. If there is one thing the band is guilty of on Lightbulb Sun, it might be simply trying too hard. After starting on a high note with the title track, the group heads into shlocky FM radio territory with the first single, "Four Chords That Make A Million‚" and taints the overall outcome. The ups include the CSNY influenced "Last Chance to Evacuate Planet Earth Before It Is Recycled‚" and the absolutely stunning album closer "Feel So Low" - some of the best material the band has released - but when their experiments fail to ignite, ("Four Chords‚" the 13-minute bore "Russia on Ice"), they really miss the mark. This record would have been amazing had it been a few songs shorter, but you have to give the band credit for not simply resting on their laurels. (Snapper)